At Mossgate we want to develop a love of learning through a curriculum that is engaging, broad, balanced and based on the development and application of skills and knowledge.

The curriculum meets the requirements of National Curriculum, The Early Years Foundation stage and Religious Education as well as providing a wealth of other experiences.

During thier time at primary school, children are grouped into three stages:

  • Early Years Foundation Stage are children aged 4 – 5 (Reception)
  • Key Stage 1 are children aged 5 – 7 (Infants)
  • Key Stage 2 are children aged 8 – 11 (Juniors)

The school curriculum contributes to the spiritual, moral, intellectual, social, physical and emotional development of the child. The National Curriculum is followed by all pupils of statutory school age. In both Key Stages subjects may be taught in their own right or be integrated with other subjects as appropriate.

National Curriculum subjects are divided into core and foundation subjects: 

Core subject are English, Mathematics and Science.

Foundation subjects are History, Geography, Art and Design, Music, Computing, Design Technology, Physical Education and Modern Foreign Language (French).

Other curriclum areas are Religious Education, Citizenship and PSHEC (Personal, Social, Health, Economic and Citizenship Education).

You can find out more about the National Curriculum (2014) by clicking here

We work hard to ensure lessons interest children, stimulate their imagination and develop independence and creativity. Letters outlining the planned curriculum are sent home at the beginning of each half term. 

Files to Download

Working Together to Achieve Success